The World at Night

I don’t know what it is about the night sky, but I love it! For example, the following links feature two “The World at Night 2011” photos on msnbc.com from a recent photo contest.

Venus Above Reunion Island

Alps at Night

I would love to be able to take pictures like that! Friends of ours, Roland and Linda Beard, have a Parables of the Sky blog. Among other things, they observe and sketch the heavens from a biblical viewpoint. I don’t know how God created the beautiful heavens, I just know He did. And it’s awesome!

I remember sitting in our backyard at night with my dad. I was about six years old. He was explaining to me the difference between the red and blue stars. A horse in the neighboring yard behind us would persistently sway against the wooden fence. He wouldn’t stop until Dad gave him an apple. Maybe he wanted to be a part of our little science lesson. Or maybe he just wanted an apple. Either way, he got what he wanted.

Mom and Dad separated when I was seven.

My memories before the separation are generally vague, but there are some that stand out.

  • A welcome letter from my Kindergarten teacher before school started. Miss McCann, your loving example inspired me to be a teacher!
  • The little corner market selling glass bottles of Dr. Pepper that had a deliciously distinct flavor that you don’t taste in today’s Dr. Pepper. Dad liked Dr. Pepper.
  • My beloved aqua and brown plaid dress that eventually became a shirt and had to be repaired by Aunt Bonnie and reinvented by Mom. Yes, I still have it.
  • Waking up in the night to my little brother puking all over my back. To this day I don’t like beans.
  • The house next to us that burned down one night. Not sure why, but I was afraid of my closet after that.
  • My mom trying to cover the sounds of the ringing black rotary wall telephone with a cloth diaper. I guess she could have used an “Ignore” button back then!
  • The day I discovered Band-Aids and how many boo-boos I actually had.
  • A boy in school telling me I looked like a bear in my new hooded jacket. I never wore it again.
  • My cousin, Beth, explaining to me that those were not trees on top of the mountains, but they were Indians. One was sitting down.
  • The original Star Trek, the evening news about the Vietnam War (which scared me enough to dislike watching the news for several years), talk about a man named Neil Armstrong and his walk on the moon, a new show called Sesame Street, and the Flintstones. “I want to see Barney!” I would cry when mom told me it was time to take a nap. That was the only character name I could remember as I desperately tried to convince mom to let me skip the nap. But I think Mom really needed me to take a nap that day. It was intense sometimes between Dad and her.

When I was sitting and looking at the night sky with Dad, I was enveloped by the stars and galaxies. Neil Armstrong couldn’t hold a candle to my dad. I didn’t understand everything Dad was saying, but I hung onto his words.  I wonder if I had suspected he would be leaving. It didn’t matter, though, because that night was special. Maybe that’s one of the reasons I love the world at night and all of the nightly treasures in the sky. It reminds me of Dad.

~Kim

p.s. Thanks, Mom, for not letting that be one of my final memories with Dad and for allowing me the opportunity to have more discussions with him…some that I still don’t always completely understand 🙂

Leave a Reply

